Dr Taofeeq A. Ige, the immediate past president of the Federation of African Medical Physics Organisations (FAMPO) and the immediate past Secretary-General of the Nigerian Association of Medical Physicists (NAMP), becomes the second African to be awarded with the prestigious Fellowship of the International Organisation of Medical Physics (FIOMP).

The award ceremony took place at the World Congress on Medical Physics and Bio-Medical Engineering, which held at the Sands Expo and Convention Centre, Marina Bay Sands, Singapore on the 15th of June 2022. The triennial conference is organised by the International Union of Physical and Engineering Scientists in Medicine (IUPESM) and brings together one of the largest gathering of Medical Physicists and Biomedical Engineers in the world. This year’s congress was held from the 12th – 17th, June.

Dr Ige was also recognised with another award for his distinguished service to FAMPO. Presenting the awards to him at the ceremony were the newly installed President of the IOMP, Professor John Damilakis (Greece) and the new Professional Relations Committee (PRC) Chair and outgone Chair of the Awards and Honours Committee of the IOMP, Dr Simone Kodulovich Renha from Brazil.